About BYBA

Back Yard Beekeepers Association

The Back Yard Beekeepers Association (BYBA) provides its membership with a forum for sharing knowledge in beekeeping, and is dedicated to educating beekeepers and promoting the benefits of beekeeping to the public. Joining a beekeeping club is a great way to learn more about beekeeping, get answers to all those questions you have, and meet other folks with similar interests.

BYBA Bee Yard

The Back Yard Beekeepers Association is fortunate to have a bee yard at Trout Brook Valley in Easton, CT.  We are continually grateful for Aspetuck Land Trust’s permission to make use of the property.

The club maintains a number of hives and conducts numerous workshops there including hive inspections, queen rearing, and others.

The Wannabees program has their bees at the bee yard, as well.

PLEASE NOTE: The bee yard is fenced and locked, and only open by appointment for workshops or other events.  Don’t plan on just “dropping in”.

ALSO NOTE: THERE ARE BEES HERE.  A veil is highly recommended when visiting the bee yard.

Click here to view in Mapquest.

Click here to view in Google Maps

The latitude and longitude are: N 41 14.748, W 73 19.560

Wannabees

The Wannabees is a group specially tailored for young beekeepers and their families. Open to kids of all ages, the Wannabees care for their own hive at the BYBA Bee Yard in Easton and meet monthly with beekeeping mentors and members of the local beekeeping community. They learn about good beekeeping practices, environmental impacts, local habitat, and how to gather and use honey and other hive products.

For information about the BYBA Wannabees contact wannabees@backyardbeekeepers.com.

Board of Directors – 2020

OFFICERS

President
Rick Glover
Fairfield, CT
(203) 520-4561
President@backyardbeekeepers.com
Vice President
Julie Blick
Brookfield, CT
(203) 733-6934
blickjulie@att.net
Co-Vice President
Serge Boyce
Fairfield, CT
(203) 722-4787
sergeboy@optonline.net
Co-Vice President
Patty Pulliam
Fairfield, CT
(203) 722-4789
pattpull@optonline.net
Secretary
Tammy Conley
Ridgefield, CT
(203) 778-2411
rtjcchat@aol.com
Treasurer
Patty Heyl
Redding, CT
(203) 938-3217
heylpty@gmail.com
Ex Officio
Tammy Conley
Ridgefield, CT
(203) 778-2411
rtjcchat@aol.com

ADVISORY COUNCIL

Winthrop E. Baum, Past President
Fairfield, CT
(203) 255-9185 – home
(203) 854-5722 – office
win@winbaum.com
Howland Blackiston, Past President
Easton, CT
(203) 226-6303
hblackiston@gmail.com
Henry Bolanos, Past President
Norwalk, CT
(203) 829-1245
hbolano@hotmail.com

DIRECTORS

David Blocher, Past President
Redding, CT
(203) 938-2539
dblocher@optonline.net
Reginia Cafini
Redding, CT
(203) 846-3829
rcafini@optonline.net
Julie Cook
Westport, CT
(203) 856-5149
jbcook4@gmail.com
Peet Foster
Riverside, CT
(917) 975-3731
peet@hpeetsbees.com
Barbara Giobbi
Ridgefield, CT
203-431-7686
bgiobbi@snet.net
Ben Haase
benhaase1@gmail.com
Andy Hatt
andrewhatt@optonline.net
Susan Hawley
Norwalk, CT
(203) 913-4443
hawley.susan@gmail.com
Robin Hodgkins
robinh2030@gmail.com
Leslie Huston, Past President
Newtown, CT
(203) 417-2023
ljhuston6@charter.net
Steve Kinsella
Fairfield, CT
(203) 394-8237
stevescapes26@yahoo.com
Bob Kreitler
Easton, CT
(203) 255-8971
Fred Krumeich
fkrumeich@gmail.com
Michael Lund
Beacon Falls, CT
(203) 729-8490
mlund01@att.net
Keith Marsh
New Fairfield, CT
kmarsh_2001@yahoo.com
Nancy Moon
(917) 533-8933
Southport, CT
nancymoon12@me.com
Becky Newman
(914) 204-2899
b.newman@earthplace.org
Erin Nikitchyuk
Sandy Hook, CT
(203) 364-9924
nikitfamily@gmail.com
Michelle Parnell
shellparnel@gmail.com
Holly Pryor
Easton, CT
(203) 261-0477
htpryor@sbcglobal.net
Manny Rossi
erossi490@gmail.com
Jeff Shwartz
Newtown, CT
(203) 733-1990
jeff@shwartz.com
Jan Stranik
Redding, CT
(201) 388-1560
jan.bk@stranik.org
Ralph Szur
Carmel, NY
(914) 255-2889
ralphsz@comcast.net
Paula Wolf
paulawolf@email.com

 

Our general membership meetings are held on the last Tuesday of most months at 7:30 PM at the Norfield Church in Weston, CT.
Please see our Calendar of Events for details.

64 Norfield Rd
Weston, CT 06883

Get In Touch

7 + 11 =